Establishment of Multi-Disciplinary Research Units (MRUs) in Government Medical colleges /Research Institutions

This scheme has been approved to establish **80 Multidisciplinary Research Units (MRUs)** in State Govt. Medical Colleges during 12th plan at a cost of Rs. 503.85 crores to create a dedicated infrastructure for research in Government Medical colleges with special focus on Non-Communicable Diseases (NCDs).

Objective:

- Encourage and strengthen an environment of research in medical colleges.
- ➤ Bridge the gap in the infrastructure which inhibits health research in the Medical Colleges by assisting them to establish multidisciplinary research facilities with a view to improve the health research and health services2
- To ensure the geographical spread of health research infrastructure, in order to cover un-served and under-served Medical Colleges and other institutions
- To improve the overall health status of the population by creating evidence-based application of diagnostic procedures/processes/methods.

Funding Norms:

Rs.5.25 crore per MRU towards equipment (Rs.5.00 cr.) & civil works/renovation (Rs.25 lakhs). In addition, recurring expenditure of Rs.34.00 lakhs towards staffing and consumables per year etc.

Requirement from the State Governments:

- To provide requisite space (minimum 300 sqmtr), free of cost, at the concerned Medical College.
- Signing of MoA with the Department of Health Research for taking over the liability of running the centres after five years. This would be about Rs.34 lakhs per year per Medical College.

Present Status of Implementation:

- Against the total target of covering 80 medical colleges, a total of 62 MRUs have been approved upto March 2015.
- ➤ Since inception of the Scheme in 2013-14, the total funds released to 48 MRUs are amounting to Rs. 77.09 crores (1st installment of Rs. 1.25 crore to 48 MRUs and 2nd installment to 6 MRUs). The list of medical colleges/ institutions sanctioned for establishment of Multi-disciplinary Research Units where funds have been released has been given in Annexure-I.
- Funds for remaining 14 colleges will be released upon completion of certain codal formalities. The list of medical colleges approved for MRU where funds could not be released due to non-settlement of UCs against other schemes of Ministry of Health & Family Welfare is given in Annexure-II.
- The contact details of the Principals and Nodal Officers of the colleges/institutes sanctioned under the scheme is given in Annexure-III.

Financial Achievements:

(Rs in Crore)

Year	B. E.	R. E.	Actual Expenditure
			as on 31.10.2015
2013-14	45.00	37.10	36.25
2014-15	80.00	31.00	31.00
2015-16	45.50	-	9.84

ABSTRACT OF SHEETS FOR RELEASE OF FUNDS UNDER MRU SCHEME

Sr No.	Item	Number
1	Medical Colleges where 1 st installment is released and UC not Due	6+13=19
2	Medical Colleges where Scheme approved but 1 st installment could not be released due to pending UCs under other Schemes of MoHFW	14
3	Medical Colleges where 1^{st} installment released, UC received and settled and 2^{nd} instalment also released	7
4	Medical Colleges where 1 st installment released but UC is pending under MRU Scheme	22
5	Medical Colleges where 1 st and 2 nd installment released and 3 rd instalment has become due (UCMS, Delhi & GMC, Calicut, Kerala)	2

List of Government Medical Colleges sanctioned the Establishment of Multi-Disciplinary Research Units (MRUs) in the various States / UTs is given below:

S.No.	State	No. of MRU Sanctioned	Name of the medical college
1.	Andhra Pradesh	2	Siddhartha Medical College, Vijayawada
			2. SV Medical College, Tirupati
2.	Assam	2	Silcher Medical College and Hospital, Silcher
			 Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed Medical College, Barpeta, Assam
3.	Chandigarh UT	1	Government Medical College, Chandigarh
4.	Chhattisgarh	1	Pandit JNM Medical College, Raipur
5.	Delhi (NCT)	2	University College of Medical Sciences, Delhi
			2. Vallabh Bhai Patel Chest Institute, Delhi
6.	Goa	1	Goa Medical College
7.	Gujarat	2	M.P.Shah Medical College, Jamnagar
			2. Surat Municipal Institute of Medical
			Education & Research(SMIMER), Surat
8.	Haryana	1	1. Pandit B.D. Sharma PGIMES , Rohtak
9.	Himachal Pradesh	2	Indira Gandhi Medical College, Shimla
			2. Dr. R.P. Govt. Medical College, Tanda
10.	Jammu & Kashmir	2	1. Govt. Medical College, Jammu
	Srinagar		2. Govt. Medical College, Srinagar
11.	Jharkhand	1	MGM Medical College, Jamshedpur
12.	Karnataka	3	Mysore Medical College and Research Institute, Mysore
			2. Shimoga Instt. of Medical Sciences, Shimoga
			 Karnataka Institute of Medical Sciences, Hubli
13.	Kerala	2	Medical College Thiruvananthapuram
			2. Calicut Medical College, Calicut, Kerala
14.	Madhya Pradesh	3	1. S.S. Medical College, Rewa
			2. Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Medical
			College, Jabalpur 3. M.G.M. Medical College, Indore

15.	Maharashtra	1	Seth G.S Medical College & KEM Hospital Mumbai
16.	Manipur	1	Regional Institute of Medical Sciences, Imphal
17.	Orissa	3	S.C.B. Medical College, Cuttack
			2. VSS Medical College, Burla
			3. M.K.C.G Medical College, Berhampur
18.	Punjab	3	Government Medical College, Amritsar
			2. Govt. Medical College, Patiala
			Guru Gobind Singh Medical College & Hospital, Faridkot
19.	Rajasthan	2	Dr. S.N. Medical College, Jodhpur
			2. Sardar Patel Medical College, Bikaner.
20.	Tamil Nadu	7	Madras Medical College, Chennai
			2. Tirunelveli Medical College, Tirunelveli
			3. Coimbatore Medical College, Coimbatore
			Dr.ALM Post Graduate Institute of Basic Medical Sciences, Taramani
			5. Chengalpattu Medical College, Chengalpattu
			6. Thanjavur Medical College, Thanjavur
			7. Govt. Theni Medical College, Theni
21.	Telangana	2	Osmania Medical College , Hyderabad
			2. Gandhi Medical College, Secundrabad
22.	Tripura	1	Agartala Govt. Medical College, Agartala
23.	Uttar Pradesh	1	King George Medical University, Lucknow
24.	Uttarakhand	2	Govt. Medical College, Haldwani (Nainital)
			 Veer Chandra Singh Garhwali Govt. Medical Science & Research Institute, Shrinagar, Uttrakhand
25.	West Bengal	1	R.G. Kar Medical College, Kolkata
Total (2	5 States/UTs)	49	

List of Government Medical Colleges sanctioned the Establishment of Multi-Disciplinary Research Units (MRUs) in Government Medical College during 2013-14 and 2014-15 which could not be released funds due to UCs pending under other Schemes of MoHFW:

S.No.	State	Name of Medical College
1	Andhra Pradesh	Rangaraya Medical College, Kakinada
		2. Andhra Medical College, Visakhapatnam
2	Delhi(NCT)	Maulana Azad Medical College, Delhi
3	Jammu & Kashmir	Sher-e-Kashmir Medical College, Srinagar
4	Kerala	1. Govt. Medical College, Thrissur, Kerala
5	Madhya Pradesh	GR Medical College, Gwalior
6	Maharashtra	B.J. Medical College, Maharashtra
		2. Dr. V.S Memorial Medical College, Solapur
7	Rajasthan	Government Medical College, Kota
		2. J.L.N Medical College & Associated Group of Hospital,
		Ajmer
8	Tamil Nadu	Govt. Mohan Kumarmangalam Medical College, Selam
9	Uttar Pradesh	1. Institute of Medical Sciences, Banaras Hindu University
		2. GSVM Medical College, Kanpur
	Total	Total 13 Medical College